Tri-Lakes MPO

Tri-Lakes Logo

The Hot Springs Area Metropolitan Planning Organziation (MPO) has a new name; Tri-Lakes Metropolitan Planning Organization.  The organization's Policy Board made amendments to the by-laws at it's meeting held on July 11, 2013 to change the MPO's name.  The name change more accurately reflects the organzation's regional service area that includes Garland County, Hot Springs, Hot Springs Village, Mountain Pine and part of Hot Spring County.  Further, the Tri-Lakes MPO Policy Board also elected to transfer the MPO's operations to West Central Arkansas Planning and Development District (WCAPDD).  

The Tri-Lakes MPO is located within the headquarters of WCAPDD at 1000 Central Avenue in Hot Springs. Tri-Lakes MPO is the official MPO for the local urbanized area.  Each area of more than 50,000 persons must have a designated MPO to coordinate transportation planning and funding on a regional level.  The MPO is responsible for planning and developing a safe, efficient and affordable transportation system for the region.  The initial Hot Springs Area MPO was formed in 2003 to develop a comprehensive long-range transportation plan for the area.

All MPO meetings are held at 10:00 AM at the Tri-Lakes MPO offices located at the WCAPDD headquarters at 1000 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR  71901
2018 Calendar  2019 Calendar. Please note that these meeting dates may need to change due to unforeseeable circumstances. MPA Map

Tri-Lakes Metropolitan Transportation Planning Documents 

The 2040 Tri-Lakes Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) was adopted by the MPO’s Policy Board on September 10, 2015.  It represents the culmination of a 10 month effort update, revise and incorporate the public’s input into a document that will guide the development of transportation infrastructure in the Hot Springs metropolitan area for the next five years. The following are Adove PDF documents of the MTP and other MPO documents.

2040 MTP Executive Summary

2040 MTP (Complete)
 MTP Amendments
         - 2016-4-28 MTP Amendment#1
  - 2017-10-26 MTP Amendment #2

           -2018-7-20 MTP Amendment #3

2016-2020 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP)

 TIP Amendments
          - 5/26/16 TIP Amendment
         - 10/27/16 TIP Amendment
          - 10/26/17 TIP Amendment

2019-2022 TIP

Public Comment Period June 30 - July 13, 2018

2018 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) 
2019 UPWP
Public Participation Plan

Annual Performance and Expenditure Report (APER) 2018

Annual Listing of Obligated Projects (ALOP): 2017 2018
2014 Title VI Program                 2018 Title VI Plan     
Hot Springs Bicycle & Pedestrian Master Plan 
TLMPO Bicycle & Pedestrian Master Plan 
Minutes TAC 2018.1.30
Minutes TAC 2018.5.8
Minutes TAC 2018.6.26
Minutes TAC 2018.10.2 Draft
Minutes Policy Board 2018.2.22
Minutes Policy Board 2018.5.24
Minutes Policy Board 2018.7.19
Minutes Policy Board 2018.10.11 Draft

Agenda Policy Board 2018.7.19 
Agenda TAC 2018.10.2
Agenda Policy Board 2018.10.11

Performance Measures (PM)
Safety (PM 1)
Bridge (PM 2)
Pavement (PM 2)
System Reliability (PM 3)
Freight Reliability (PM 3)
Transit    ARDOT TAM Plan
Transportation Performance Management (TPM) Implementation Plan

Acronyms   MPO 101 Pamphlet

*Adobe Reader is required to view files above.  

Hot Springs Urbanized Area Wayfinding Signage Program (061577 FLAP): Letter Of Interest (LOI) Request and LOI Questions & Answers. Scope of Work (SOW) and SOW Questions and Answers; ARDOT Wayfinding PolicyDraft Tourist Attractions List; Downtown Sketch Map. List of Planning Documents;

Contact Tri-Lakes MPO: 1000 Central Avenue, 71901; P.O. Box 6409, 71902, Hot Springs, AR. Phone: 501-525-7577 x20 Email: 

Dwayne Pratt, Executive Director, WCAPDD, Inc.   Emmily Tiampati, MPO Study Director * New MPO Facebook Page

Notice of Non-Discrimination

The Tri-Lakes Metropolitan Planning Organization (TL-MPO) complies with all civil rights provisions of federal statues and related authorities that prohibit discrimination in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance.  Therefore, the Tri-Lakes MPO does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, color, age, national origin, religion or disability, in the admission, access to and treatment in the MPO's programs and activities, as well as the MPO's hiring or employment practices.  Complaints of alleged discrimination and inquiries regarding the MPO's non-discrimination policies may be directed to Study Director, 1000 Central Avenue, Hot Springs, AR, 71901, (501) 302-5028, (Voice/TTY 711), or the following email address:

This notice is available from the ADA/504/Title VI Coordinator in large print, on audiotape and in Braille, upon request. Free language assistance shall be provided to persons of Limited English Proficiency (LEP) upon request.


Board, Officers, and District Members




 Christmas Party

 IMG 1776





Clark County

County Judge Troy Tucker

Gary Brinkley, Arkadelphia City Manager

Conway County

County Judge Jimmy Hart

 Mayor Alan Lipsmeyer,Morrilton

Mayor Lee Smith, Menifee

Garland County

County Judge Rick Davis

David Frasher, Hot Springs City Manager

John Rogers, B & F Engineering


2018-2019 Board of Directors


Judge Rick Davis - President

Judge Herman Houston - Vice President

Mr. Bill Weston- Treasurer

Mayor Brenda Weldon - Secretary

Executive Committee

Mr. Bill Weston, Pres. First National Bank

Yell County Judge Mark Thone

Johnson County Judge Herman Houston

Dardanelle Mayor Carolyn McGee

Pope County Judge Jim Ed Gibson

 Garland County Judge Rick Davis

Malvern Mayor Brenda Weldon

Board Members

Hot Spring County

County Judge Dennis Thornton

Malvern Mayor Brenda Weldon

  Mr. Jewell Willis, Jr.

 Johnson County

County Judge Herman Houston

Clarksville Mayor Mark Simpson

Matt Wylie, Pres. First Security Bank

Montgomery County

County Judge Sammy Jones

Mount Ida Mayor Jo Childress

Oden Mayor Tim Philpot

Members at Large

Steve Beck, Public Works

Raymond Chambers, Family First 






 Member Counties & Cities

Clark County Conway County Garland County Hot Spring County Johnson County
City of Amity City of Morrilton City of Hot Springs City of Malvern City of Clarksville
City of Arkadelphia City of Plumerville   City of Midway City of Coal Hill
City of Caddo Valley City of Menifee   City of Rockport City of Hartman
City of Gurdon City of Oppelo     City of Lamar
Montgomery County Perry County Pike County Pope County Yell County
City of Mount Ida City of Bigelow City of Antoine City of Atkins City of Danville
City of Norman City of Perryville City of Daisy City of London City of Dardanelle
  City of Casa City of Glenwood City of Pottsville City of Ola
    City of Murfreesboro City of Russellville City of Plainview

To find out how your city can become a member of West Central Arkansas Planning and Development District, contact Dwayne Pratt, Executive Director.



Dwayne Pratt
Executive Director
1000 Central Ave.
P.O. Box 6409
Hot Springs, AR 71902
Phone 501-525-7577 x 11
Fax 501-525-7677










The West Central Arkansas Planning and Development District was organized for the purpose of improving and enhancing the social and economic well-being and opportunities for the people residing within its boundaries. WCAPDD is a multi-county non-profit planning and development organization established to promote economic development, to assist local governments and private organizations in obtaining federal and state grants and loans, to prepare comprehensive regional plans for economic development and improve government services, to enlist private support for these activities, and to coordinate private and public programs in a multi-county district.